Peter Prince
The Great Circle
September 09, 2018 Comments.. 228
The Great Circle On St Valentine s Day the paddle steamer Laurentia Captain Donald McDonough commanding left the Inman Line wharf in East Boston bound for Halifax Nova Scotia and Liverpool Her sailing day w

  • Title: The Great Circle
  • Author: Peter Prince
  • ISBN: 9780679453086
  • Page: 225
  • Format: Hardcover
  • On St Valentine s Day, 1865, the paddle steamer Laurentia, Captain Donald McDonough commanding, left the Inman Line wharf in East Boston bound for Halifax, Nova Scotia, and Liverpool Her sailing day was a Tuesday as usual A s the Laurentia makes her stately passage across the gray Atlantic, the passengers are left to their own devices to fill the thirteen days On St Valentine s Day, 1865, the paddle steamer Laurentia, Captain Donald McDonough commanding, left the Inman Line wharf in East Boston bound for Halifax, Nova Scotia, and Liverpool Her sailing day was a Tuesday as usual A s the Laurentia makes her stately passage across the gray Atlantic, the passengers are left to their own devices to fill the thirteen days until they reach England s shores They will form alliances, make enemies, negotiate deals, and swindle, seduce, and betray one another all while upholding the strictest standards of nineteenth century decorum.The diverse passenger list includes Arthur and Olivia Crichton a middle aged businessman and his beautiful, much younger wife, a couple trying to believe that they are happyThe Reverend Stibbards a clergyman with an unusually secular appreciation of the female passengersMrs Stewart a widow of obvious charms but rather uncertain meansCharles Stuart a black entertainer, held prisoner in his cabin, hoping to find tolerance in the great capitals of EuropeMajor Cutler a bigoted card player with a loaded pistol at his side John Bonney a mysterious young man, standing at the rail in all weather, his eyes never leaving the receding American shoreBut people are rarely what they seem For fans of Upstairs Downstairs and A Room with a View, The Great Circle literate, sophisticated, colorfully cast is an unforgettable window into a world gone by, yet one whose themes of love and happiness and the ways to live a life of integrity are timeless.

    • Free Read [History Book] ☆ The Great Circle - by Peter Prince ↠
      225 Peter Prince
    • thumbnail Title: Free Read [History Book] ☆ The Great Circle - by Peter Prince ↠
      Posted by:Peter Prince
      Published :2018-09-09T04:56:15+00:00

    1 Blog on “The Great Circle

    1. Karla says:

      This book was a fast read, but ultimately not that enjoyable. The characters were shallow and not well-drawn, the situations they get involved in strongly contrived and not very involving. The concept is sort of like a "Grand Hotel" on the high seas, but the author falls short of his goal.

    2. Karen says:

      Good Reads doesn't have a "didn't finish" choice like Visual Bookshelf did. Anyway, I didn't finish. Life is too short to read bad books.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *