Michael Moorcock
Count Brass
March 09, 2019 Comments.. 270
Count Brass Count Brass is the first novel in the The Chronicles of Castle Brass series by Michael Moorcock and featuring Duke Dorian Hawkmoon It is a sequel to The Runestaff and is followed by The Champion of Ga

  • Title: Count Brass
  • Author: Michael Moorcock
  • ISBN: 9780441117758
  • Page: 292
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback
  • Count Brass is the first novel in the The Chronicles of Castle Brass series by Michael Moorcock and featuring Duke Dorian Hawkmoon It is a sequel to The Runestaff and is followed by The Champion of Garathorm.

    • Free Download [Ebooks Book] É Count Brass - by Michael Moorcock ↠
      292 Michael Moorcock
    • thumbnail Title: Free Download [Ebooks Book] É Count Brass - by Michael Moorcock ↠
      Posted by:Michael Moorcock
      Published :2019-03-09T01:09:13+00:00

    1 Blog on “Count Brass

    1. Greg says:

      Apart from the first chapter which is rather dull because much time is spent filling in the background to the protagonist, Hawkmoon, who featured in a previous trilogy (The History of the Runestaff), this was an enjoyable read. Hawkmoon had fought heroically against the Dark Empire, which had been defeated five years previously, and had subsequently married the daughter of one of his friends and co-combatants, Count Brass, who had perished in battle. Hawkmoon now lived happily and peacefully in [...]

    2. Dan Schwent says:

      I've read quite a few books in the Michael Moorcock Eternal Champion series. This one is definitely middle of the road. The first book, Count Brass, was not good. The ending saved it. The second story, Champion of Garathorm, was better than the first and probably average for a Moorcock story at the time it was written. I liked seeing a female version of the Eternal Champion for once. The third story, Quest for Tanelorn, was on the complete opposite end of the Moorcock spectrum than the first. Sa [...]

    3. Pam Baddeley says:

      This is the first in the Count Brass series, but follows the previous series about the Runestaff. I read that many years ago and no longer have it, so it's just as well that this begins with a summary and drops in various other aspects of the back story as the book goes on.Duke Dorian Hawkmoon is enjoying a quiet life ruling the Kamarg, a marshy area with its own unique wildlife such as horned horses (and based on the real-life area of France, known as the Camargue). The setting is an alternativ [...]

    4. Mark Hodder says:

      So this review applies to the Gollancz edition, which is comprised of Count Brass, The Champion of Garathorm, and The Quest for Tanelorn. This is where Moorcock's multiverse gets tangled up in itself, and we see the Eternal Champion meeting some of his other incarnations. I remember reading this as a teenager and being blown away by the cross-referencing. Nowadays it's old hat, but back then (70s) it was a game changer, and it definitely made me want to become an author, so I could have similar [...]

    5. Simon Mcleish says:

      Originally published on my blog here in July 1999.After a few years' gap, Michael Moorcock published a new trilogy to follow on from the Runestaff series, one of his early successes; Count Brass is the first of these. Dorian Hawkmoon has retired to his beloved Kamarg, to run that small region along with his wife, Yisselda. There he mourns his friends who died in the battle of Londra, and brings up a young family.Several years have passed, then rumours arise that the ghost of Count Brass, formerl [...]

    6. Pat Sul says:

      while i have a lot of the moorcock books i was never really a fan (why then did i have the books? a cross between the potential that i would read them, the collector mentality and i have always loved those small paperbacks). one of my mates was banging on about how much fun he was having reading them again, so i sought out my pile. i am reading them in no particular order - it was fortunate that count brass was the first in a series. i confess that i love the concept of the eternal champion. i l [...]

    7. Shannon Appelcline says:

      It was surprising to see the new Hawkmoon series begin with what's effectively a coda to the History of the Runestaff, retreading the locations and characters from the original Hawkmoon sequence. However, it turns out to also be a great bridge, touching upon the ideas of a multiverse while simultaneously setting up a major problem for Hawkmoon that puts him more closely in tune with the epitmous Eternal Champion, Erekosë and which gives him a problem to unravel as the entire Eternal Champion se [...]

    8. Becky says:

      I'll be honest, the first two stories in this volume are a little uninspiring (though it's nice to have a female aspect of the Eternal Champion) but it warrants a 4 star rating for the final story alone. I often feel like I read Moorcock less for the individual stories and more because I love the epic, almost mythic quality of the saga of the Eternal Champion, and those stories where this is the focus, and where the different aspects are able to meet and interact with each other are usually the [...]

    9. M says:

      The plot is generally more complex than the History of the Runestaff/Hawkmoon quadriology was. This book sees Hawkmoon dealing with travel through time and parallel universes as both allies and enemies return. Also, the cliffhanger here is much better albeit much more frustrating than those in the Hawkmoon novels.

    10. Mike (the Paladin) says:

      Moorcock's Eternal Champion cycle is one of the best fantasy reads out there. While some parts are better than others it holds (and deserves) a place as a fantasy classic. The Hawkmoon novels are possibly my favorite series. While the Eleric stories may often be deeper and even somewhat better written the Hawkmoon stories held a measure more satisfaction for me.

    11. Ron says:

      Count Brass is the first novel in the The Chronicles of Castle Brass series by Michael Moorcock and featuring Duke Dorian Hawkmoon. It is a sequel to The Runestaff and is followed by The Champion of Garathorm

    12. Jimbo says:

      i really liked this book alot. it has a bit of time/space paradoxes and timeline ripples with a hint of parrell universes. also brings back some old friends from the grave in a good twist.e ending is better than the other hawkmoon books because it wasnt easy to see.

    13. nobody says:

      this book wasn't great, but the ending was great.

    14. Audrey Buchman says:

      The ending of this book is bittersweet. It makes me sad, and also makes me wonder how the next two books of the Chronicles of Castle Brass are going to be.

    15. Chuck says:

      Don't read this if you haven't read the Runestaff series. It's mostly concerned with resurrecting characters who had previously died.

    16. Jo Thomas says:

      A Quick Review of Count Brass I enjoyed the writing but I suspect three stories are a little dated now - but I see why I enjoyed them when I was just getting into sff!

    17. Keith Davis says:

      I really did not think Moorcock could pick up Hawkmoon's story again after the event of Runestaff, but he does.

    18. Bill says:


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *