Bill Pennington
On Par: The Everyday Golfer’s Survival Guide
January 26, 2019 Comments.. 597
On Par The Everyday Golfer s Survival Guide Bill Pennington author of the beloved and widely read On Par golf column for the New York Times knows how to interpret the experts and pros for the rest of us For years he has traveled the globe in

  • Title: On Par: The Everyday Golfer’s Survival Guide
  • Author: Bill Pennington
  • ISBN: 9780547548449
  • Page: 433
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Bill Pennington, author of the beloved and widely read On Par golf column for the New York Times, knows how to interpret the experts and pros for the rest of us For years, he has traveled the globe in search of golf s essentials those basic principles, those elusive truths and who are we kidding, any trick or quick fix he can pick up along the way that will improve anBill Pennington, author of the beloved and widely read On Par golf column for the New York Times, knows how to interpret the experts and pros for the rest of us For years, he has traveled the globe in search of golf s essentials those basic principles, those elusive truths and who are we kidding, any trick or quick fix he can pick up along the way that will improve anyone s game He has consulted the world s leading golf instructors as well as countless caddies, groundskeepers, parking lot attendants, and bartenders He has played rounds with Tiger Woods, Annika Sorenstam, and Justin Timberlake He has sought the advice of psychiatrists, physicists, economists, zen masters And on a particularly bad golf outing, he has even discussed the fickleness of golf with a quite helpful raccoon On Par captures it all From equipment and instruction, to the rules and language of golf, to camaraderie and psychology, to the short game long game debate, Pennington informs and entertains as he gets to the essence of this mercurial game, including golf s holy grail, the hole in one Part instruction, part education, part therapy, and shot through with Pennington s trademark wit, this is a book for everyone who has ever felt the game s distinct pull and slice.

    • Unlimited [Manga Book] ✓ On Par: The Everyday Golfer’s Survival Guide - by Bill Pennington ✓
      433 Bill Pennington
    • thumbnail Title: Unlimited [Manga Book] ✓ On Par: The Everyday Golfer’s Survival Guide - by Bill Pennington ✓
      Posted by:Bill Pennington
      Published :2019-01-26T18:37:30+00:00

    1 Blog on “On Par: The Everyday Golfer’s Survival Guide

    1. Dave says:

      In the interests of full disclosure, I must confess that I owe Bill Pennington my life, or at least the use of my limbs. A couple of years ago, after more than forty years playing golf, I suddenly lost my ability to putt. It didn't just have the yips. I had the yaws, the yahoos, and the you've-got-to-be-kidding-mes. I tried a dozen different putters including some that were clearly not legal. I putted cross-handed, one-handed, and would have putted no-handed if I could have figured out how to ho [...]

    2. Max Skidmore says:

      Arthur Daley said, "Golf is like a love affair. If you don't take it seriously, it's no fun; if you do take it seriously, it breaks your heart." I thoroughly enjoyed this book because I thoroughly enjoy golf. This book is witty as well as instructional in many aspects: rules, courtesy, instruction and how to get invited back to an exclusive club. I especially liked the section on recommendations for great golf vacations which I plan to implement this summer! My golf strategy is simple and easy t [...]

    3. Corny says:

      I cannot in good conscience review this book because after reading one half of it, I found I couldn't get through the rest. Too much of the book consisted of things I already knew and thus were not of great interest. Pennington adds very little new material if you are a devotee of golf. Dan Jenkins recent book Unplayable Lies offers more entertaining stuff.

    4. Doug says:

      This is the first golf book I've ever read. As a person who has played golf on and off all his life and trying to become a golfer this book was fantastic. It talked about the game in all kinds of ways that made it interesting and a kind of, sort of instruction book. A great read, especially for those who need to get their head in order on the course and about the course.

    5. thomas says:

      I read Pennington's column in the NYT so I expected this to be well written and it is. But also a little disappointing. He goes over so many topics that he seems to not dig in too deeply.I was expecting a little more tips from some of the famous golfers he had covered and played with.A quick breezy read.

    6. Jerry Fultz says:

      Hackers unite - this is the perfect golf book. It perfectly describes the love-hate relationship I have with this ridiculous game (I mean sport). Favorite chapter - None Places Every Golfer Should Play. Enjoy.

    7. Kevin Wong says:

      fun book about golf. I think any casual golfer would enjoy this read.

    8. Jay Resnick says:

      Great golf writing in the tradition of Bernard Darwin and Herbert Warren Wind

    9. Kevin says:

      Good golf book until the last couple of chapters when it tails off badly. Would have been very good with a little more editing.

    10. Curtis says:

      This book was fun to read. The author brings lots of humor to the topic as well as practical advice.

    11. Andrew says:

      Great book for any golfer. Easy to understand and follow, great stories and you learn not just about playing golf but everything that goes along with it. Enjoyed it immensely.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *